Controversy Mapping with Tommaso Venturini

by

Controversy mapping is a method to train students in the observation and description of sociotechnical debates introduced by Bruno Latour some twenty years ago. Since then, the practice has been adopted in university education in places like Paris, Copenhagen, Oxford, Manchester, Amsterdam, Liège, Padova, Milan and Trento. It has also become the focus of an expanding collection of European research projects. In my presentation I will report on the latest developments in controversy mapping as a means to stimulate public engagement with technoscience. Such engagement, I will claim, can be achieved by combining three different movements: the sequencing of complexity, the narration/exploration circle and the interaction spiral. Examples from the works of my students and the research projects that I lead will be provided.

